What I’ve Been Up To

So it’s been awhile since I put up something new on this site.  One reason is that my day job has been making me work insane amounts of overtime.  The other, though, is something so much better.  It’s something that I used to love oh so much, and I almost forgot that it ever existed.

Saturday Night’s Main Event

In case you’re not a total nerd, I’ll explain.  Saturday Night’s Main Event was a WWF (and I’ll always call it that) wrestling special that would run sporadically at 10:30 (central time) on NBC on Saturdays throughout the mid-eighties to the early nineties.  You see, back before Raw & Smackdown (which I actually never watch), it wasn’t very common to see a nationally televised wrestling show that featured the WWF’s most popular wrestlers.  Usually, you’d be stuck watching some no name wrestler getting his ass kicked by a more popular wrestler.  Quite frankly, it sucked.  But then in May of 1985, Saturday Night’s Main Event made its premiere, featuring matches that were of “Wrestlemania caliber” with the most popular wrestlers of the time.  Hulk Hogan. Randy “Macho Man” Savage.  “Rowdy” Roddy Piper.  “Mr. Wonderful” Paul Orndorff. Andre The Giant.  Jake “The Snake” Roberts.  They were all there.  And now, the WWF has compiled some of the greatest matches from the show into a three-disc DVD set:  The Best of Saturday Night’s Main Event. 

As glad as I am that I found this collection, the fact that it came out a year ago and eluded my knowing really pisses me off.  Because even though I’m only about halfway into it, it’s fucking awesome.  The interviews, the matches, the unbeatable commentating of Vince McMahon and Jesse “The Body” Ventura; all of it is fucking gold.  Even if you were just a casual wrestling fan, (and didn’t have a life-size Hulk Hogan poster in your room) you need to see this.  If you weren’t even a casual wrestling fan, I’m not sure why you’re still reading this. 

So that’s about it for now.  I’d like to say that I’ll be updating the blog again soon, but as I said earlier, I’m only halfway through this set (and I’m only allowed to watch it when my girlfriend isn’t home).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “What I’ve Been Up To”

  1. Jackie Says:

    yup. im not going to watch this, sorry. love you, but i just cant do it. and thanks for making me sound like a bitch!

Leave a Reply

