A Previous Engagement

Attention single women:  Are you looking for a man who…

  1. Could spend an entire evening watching 1980’s pro wrestling videos.
  2. Can ignore you for hours on end while simultaneously playing hockey-themed video games.
  3. Enjoys endless conversation about film or music simply because it gives him an opportunity to look smart and act snobby.
  4. Is just good-looking enough to not be considered ugly.

Well, if this is what you’re looking for, I have some bad news.  I’ve already discovered someone who was seeking all these things.  Her name is Jackie, and she’s way cooler than you.

So imagine my surprise when I popped the question at her roller derby bout last weekend and she actually accepted.  Don’t believe me?  Check out the video below that my roommate Jeremy took of the whole thing. (Then go check out his super happy fun awesome site here.)

So thanks to the Brew City Brusiers (specifically Pop Tart & Gloria Hole), for giving me the opportunity to turn myself into a nervous wreck in front of a thousand people.

Tags: , , , , ,

16 Responses to “A Previous Engagement”

  1. Jackie Says:

    i heart you.

  2. jamesdolata Says:

    Yeah, I know I’m awesome.

  3. It Girl Says:

    I love the opening to this blog. I also love that every guy friend of yours has to try and top you somehow. 🙂
    Congrats again to both of you.

  4. Anna Says:

    congrats James & Jackie!!!!

    I just watched the video, wish I could have been there in person to see it!!!

    I am so happy for you Mames!!!!

    Love, Anna & Jason…

  5. chris Says:

    Fuck yeah dude!!!!

  6. chris Says:

    i got so excited when i read it, that I called you like 3 times. Then i realized not everyone stays up till 3 am like I do, so, sorry about that.

    Also, Ive shown the rabbit story to a million people, and they all shit bricks laughing.

  7. Cassie Says:

    Yay James! Congratulations.

  8. Perry Z Says:

    Hey Congrats James and your Soon To Be! That Was really Cool! Whens The Date?

  9. Paul Spooner Says:

    I don’t know you, but Congratulations! Don’t worry, the first ten years are the worst, after that marriage is a dream…

    Also, 1980’s wrestling rocks: Randy Macho Man Savage, Andre The Giant….Man those were the days!

    • jamesdolata Says:

      Thanks for the advice. It’s nice to know that the days of Roddy Piper still live on in the memories of others as well.

Leave a Reply

