Taken Down A Peg

Although I don’t plan on having any anytime soon, I really like kids.  When I’m at family functions, I always tend to sneak off for a little bit and play football or video games with my cousins.  It can be a nice change from the typical conversations that adults have.  Plus, all the mundane or basic crap that I take for granted, like driving a car or making a three-pointer, seems amazing to a six year old.  Though I do suppose I occasionally take a little joy in hanging out with kids because, with the exception of being able to hide behind a couch, I’m pretty much better than them at everything.

Well, now I don’t even have that.  About a month ago, my aunt and uncle showed me a drawing that my eight, I repeat eight, year old cousin Brandon did in class.  Apparently, he was given the most simple art project imaginable: draw anything.  My cousin chose to draw a skull.  Sounds pretty basic, right.  Well look at how it turned out.

brandon'spicture

I’ll be the first to admit that I know absolutely nothing about art.  I just know what I like.  Any knowledge I do have on the subject comes mostly from analyzing album covers and liner notes over the years.  But I can honestly say without any bias, that I think this drawing is amazing.  It just looks so badass to me.  In fact, I currently have a blown up version of this hanging in my living room.

Although I suppose it’s not too big of a feat, my cousin Brandon has officially shown me up as the better artist, which means it’s only a matter of time before he becomes more talented than me in every other facet of life.

Perhaps you think I’m bitter.  Well, I guess I am.

And this is why I don’t want kids.

Once again, awesome drawing Brandon.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

