DVD Review: The State – The Complete Series

Once again, I must apologize for not updating this blog for awhile.  But outside of all the busyness mentioned in my last post, I’ve been working damn near fifty hour weeks and coping with some huge events in my life:

  1. For the first time, I attended a house party where I was the oldest guest.  (This thoroughly creeped me out.)
  2. And also for the first time, I saw a drunken woman I didn’t know piss in the parking lot after a Milwaukee Brewers game.  (This was nowhere near as sexy as it sounds.)

But I digress.

I’m not here to talk to you about getting old or the lack of bladder control among inebriated sports fans with pink baseball hats.  I’m here to talk about the early to mid 1990’s.  It was a simpler time for many.  And in the case of MTV, it was a better time.  A brief period in the station’s existence when music videos were played regularly, none of us could give a fuck who Paris Hilton’s BFF was, and original shows actually offered an alternative to everything else.  I was still pretty young back then, but I was also a lazy little bastard with basic cable, so I can recollect some of this.

Enter The State, although not even MTV’s most popular show of the period, it is arguably the best and most significant original show the network ever aired.  It launched careers that, as far as numbers go, can only be rivaled by Jackass.  Members of The State have gone on to create and star in movies and TV shows like Reno 911!, Stella, Michael & Michael Have Issues, Wet Hot American Summer, and The Ten.  And for the first time, every episode of this groundbreaking show is available in a 5-disc DVD set.

It’s crazy, because outside of a VHS compilation that a friend of mine had, I haven’t really seen the show since it actually was on MTV.  And I must say,  it’s even funnier than I remember it (I guess some of the humor is a little easier to grasp, seeing as I’m not twelve-years-old anymore).  I still laugh out loud when I see the “monkey torture sketch” or the not so rebellious “Doug.”  And as unbelievable as it seems, I actually forgot about “Louie” and his undying urge to “dip his balls” in everything.

I’m sure rabid fans have already picked this one up.  But if you haven’t, check out the videos below to rekindle your love of the show.  Then, go buy the set here and bask in a time when Laguna Beach and The Hills were just considered places, and not everything that is wrong with the world.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “DVD Review: The State – The Complete Series”

  1. Karen Says:

    The State was amazing. Got me through high school.

  2. Baseballbriefs.com Says:

    Baseballbriefs.com tracking back DVD Review: The State – The Complete Series…

    Baseballbriefs.com tracking back DVD Review: The State – The Complete Series…

Leave a Reply

