There Will Be Bitching

Today I found myself at Best Buy looking through all the new music and movie releases.  Finding nothing new worth buying, I grabbed a $10 Blu-Ray copy of Cast Away and headed for the register.  While waiting in line, I came upon the magazine section and quickly noticed the new Rolling Stone “Best of the Decade” issue.  I couldn’t resist the urge to thumb through it.

I love “best of” lists.  I love making them, and I love reading them.  In fact, I probably get more joy out of reading them, if only because it gives me another thing to bitch about.  So without further ado…

I only glanced quickly at the best albums of the year, but of course I had to look at what number one was.  Take one guess at what you think it might be; you’re probably right.  Yup. Kid A claimed the top spot and proved that the editors of Rolling Stone still have their tongues buried deep into the doo doo hole of Mr. Thom Yorke.  I’m not saying Radiohead isn’t a good band.  In fact, I think they’re a great band.  But if you asked me to rank just Radiohead albums, Kid A would probably fall in the No. 4 spot (granted 2 of the 3 albums ahead of it weren’t released in “the oughts”).  It just seems like such a safe and ball-less move to put Radiohead at the top of the list.  It reminds me of when a journalist asks a musician about their influences and the first words out of their mouths are “The Beatles.”  Of course you like the Beatles.  Everybody likes the fucking Beatles!!!  Why don’t you surprise me for a change?

The rage I felt from the aforementioned list quickly led me to a different article, the best films of the decade.  Coming in at No. 10, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.

Alright, first off Rolling Stone, your No. 10 movie is actually three movies.  Just do like the Oscars and throw a bunch of mercy accolades at one film.  Secondly, I have seen two of the three “Rings” flicks, and I’m currently struggling to think of movies that were worse than Peter Jackson’s self-indulgent nine-plus hour epic crapfest.  Tell me I’m wrong all you want, but I fucking hated these movies.

At No. 2 was what I believed to be an odd pick, Children Of Men.  The concept of one pregnant woman existing in a world where the human race was no longer able to reproduce was genius, but the end result is a film that falls just on the good side of average and has no business on this list.  If you really wanna defend this film, I suppose you could make a case, but I doubt anyone will lose sleep over missing this one.

And now for number one.  I slowly glanced over at the page, preparing my conscious to let out an internal “Are you fucking serious?”  I stared at a still frame from what Rolling Stone believed to be the best film of the past 10 years, and I was amazed.  Not only did I think they made a good choice, but I also completely agree with them.  That settles it.

There Will Be Blood is the best movie of the decade.

If you haven’t seen it, see it.  If you have seen it and don’t agree, see it again.  It gets better every time.  If you do that and still don’t believe me, then I just gave you something to bitch about.

You’re welcome.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “There Will Be Bitching”

  1. Cassie Says:

    I totally agree about Radiohead. Yeah, Kid A was alright, and I appreciate it for what it is, but not number one album. I also don’t think it was the best Radiohead album ever made….but I’m also a fan of their second and third albums. 3 being my favorite.

    • jamesdolata Says:

      Yeah I’m constantly torn between The Bends and OK Computer. I really liked In Rainbows, though. That would be my #3 Radiohead album.

  2. Perry Zweber Says:

    Hey James this is an interesting fact, guess who did the soundtrack to that movie? Johnny Greenwood! The guitarist from Radiohead who had the album of the decade. Wow, Rolling Stone Really likes the Radiohead! I bet that makes you angry to. Ha!

    • jamesdolata Says:

      I actually did know that Greenwood did the score for There Will Be Blood, and he did do an awesome job. And no it doesn’t piss me off. There Will Be Blood can’t be recognized enough for its awesomeness.

  3. Annette Says:

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!🙂. I’ll go and read some more!

Leave a Reply

