March Madness: To The Victor Go The Spoils

As you may have seen from a previous post, my wife and I filled out our NCAA brackets and decided to let the person with the higher score pick the location of our next dinner date.  In case you haven’t been following the epic saga that has been the “James Vs. Jackie NCAA Extravaganza,” let me give you a round by round rundown.

The round of 64 saw me taking some huge hits.  Most notably, UCLA took out Michigan St. and subsequently rid my bracket of one of my Final Four.  When combined with some other truly idiotic picks, I found myself 50 points behind the love of my life.  Did Jackie gloat, you ask?  Of course, she did.  But, with a 50 point lead and all of her Final Four still alive, she had every right to.

The round of 32 found the college basketball gods taking a little mercy on me.  In the end, both of us correctly picked seven of the Sweet Sixteen.  But it was the Butler over Pittsburgh upset that wiped out Jackie’s pick for the national champion and breathed new life into my bracket.  Total score after the round of 32:  Jackie 400, James 350.

The sweet sixteen round turned into something of a turning point for me, as it was the first round where I actually scored higher than Jackie.  Although I correctly picked four of the Elite 8, Jackie was still able to pick three, which still left me trailing by a mere ten points.  Total score after the Sweet Sixteen round:  Jackie 520, James 510.

Going into the Elite 8 round, I honestly thought I was a shoe-in to win.  After all, at this point it was impossible for Jackie to score any more points.  I, on the other hand, still had potential to score on the three of the four games in the round; all I had to do was win one. 

I needed Kansas to win.  They lost.  I needed North Carolina to win.  They lost.  And I needed Connecticut to win.  They………………They Won!?!  They Won!!!  Holy fuck they won!!!  I won the tournament!!!

That’s right.  Having correctly picked a whopping one out of the Final Four and incorrectly picking both of the teams in the championship, I was still able to win.  Final Score:  James 590, Jackie 510

And we all know what that means:

What’s the saying, again?  Ah, yes.  The thrill of victory…..

…And the agony of defeat.

So good luck to whoever is in the championship.  I don’t really care anymore.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “March Madness: To The Victor Go The Spoils”

  1. Lois Morris Says:

    I don’t care what Jackie’s sign says, she’ll always be #1 to me. Congrats James on being a good guesser.

  2. dwellephant Says:

    I love that you have a glass of milk with your dinner. And I love that Jackie has a glass of sadness.

  3. Mom Says:

    I hope you and Jackie have that much fun together forever.

Leave a Reply

