Bin Laden Is Dead: How Do You Feel About It?

In an earlier post, I made light of the fact that Bin Laden was dead.  For the most part, I did it because news like that was just too big to ignore.  I had to do something.  And quite frankly, I was tired yesterday and found it much easier to post a video and write one stupid sentence rather than going all in-depth on everything.

Today, however, is a new day.  And more than anything, I want to know how everybody feels about this; so please leave a comment after you read this, and let me know your take on the whole situation.

To me, the reaction to Bin Laden’s death has been nothing short of mind-boggling.  I immediately knew when I heard the news that folks would be split in their opinions on how everything was handled, but I can’t get over how it has become so universally accepted to be overcome with joy over Osama’s death.  Now don’t get me wrong, the man was a terrible person and a threat to all of us, but I just can’t find it in myself to realistically cheer the killing of another person.  There’s a lot people in this world that I think are doing way more harm than good, but I don’t wish death on any of them.

I don’t blame Obama for making the call he made.  When he took the job he knew he’d face some tough decisions, and this certainly was one of them.  I only hope that he exhausted all efforts to capture Bin Laden alive before choosing the option he did.  Because honestly, I would’ve preferred to see Osama dragged in chains into a courtroom and be forced to hear the terrible stories and look into the eyes of every last person who was left without a parent, child, friend, or loved one because of the actions he orchestrated ten years ago.  Even if the trial would’ve ended in an execution, we would’ve have given Osama due process and shown the world that this country stands for both individual rights and justice.  Not to mention the fact that a Bin Laden with a pulse could’ve provided us with a lot more answers than a Bin Laden who has probably become shark chum by now. 

I’ve never really considered myself an extremely religious person, but I know that a good chunk of this country does.  And to me, It seems like a lot of people have been force fed fear and anger for so long that they tend to latch onto the “eye for an eye” mentality while neglecting to see that damn near every religion tells us to “love the sinner and hate the sin.”  I don’t know, maybe it’s the hippie in me talking, but it seems like people are treating Osama’s death as an act of vengeance to relish as opposed to an act of justice to endure.

In closing, I’d just like to reiterate that it is a good thing to know that Bin Laden will no longer be a threat to our country.  Having said that, if you plan on seeing me at an “Osama’s dead” rally with an American flag chanting “USA,” don’t hold your breath.

So, how do you feel?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Bin Laden Is Dead: How Do You Feel About It?”

  1. Bil Says:

    Do you really think he would give a shit about the families of the victims? He felt he was doing gods work. The point of getting this over quickly was to make him any more of a martyr. I think that’s respectable.

Leave a Reply

