Not Again…

“…and that about wraps things up here.  We’ll see you next week when Ben Roethlisberger leads the Steelers into Foxboro to take on Tom Brady and the Patriots.  Goodnight.”

Those words just seem to roll off the tongue, don’t they?  It sounds so natural.  If you read it enough times, you almost start to believe it’s true.   But then the reality sets in.  It’s not true.  And why? Why is this not true?

Tim Fucking Tebow.

That’s right folks, little Timmy Tebow led his “little engine that could” team to a thrilling overtime victory that made me want to do nothing more than eat my own vomit so I could throw up twice.

Now, this isn’t an attack on Tim Tebow “the man.”  I’ve read interviews he’s done and for as much as I would love him to sound like the abominable snowman from the Looney Tunes Cartoons, he doesn’t.  In fact, he almost always says the right thing.  And I could care less about how religious he is.  If you wanna drop to one knee in a stoic formation or do your best Scott Stapp impression, go right ahead.  He surely wouldn’t be the first.  It actually makes perfect sense.  After all, Tim Tebow is living and breathing proof that God does exist, ‘cause it sure as hell ain’t raw, unbridled talent that is winning these games.

I just don’t understand the phenomena around this guy.  He’s playing like shit and, with the exception of last night, the Broncos defense is winning games for him.  Carolina’s rookie quarterback put up numbers this year that would put Tebow’s to shame, yet I haven’t seen “Newtoning” become the biggest craze since planking.

It just makes me wonder what would’ve happened if the roles were reversed.  What if the Steelers would’ve won that game the same way as the Broncos?  That’s easy.  It would’ve been called business as usual for Big Ben and hordes of the Tebow faithful would be bitching about the NFL’s overtime system and how Timmy the Hero never even got a crack at it in the extra quarter.  But instead, I turn on ESPN and see the “experts” trying to formulate a name for that last play and already comparing it to the Immaculate Reception, which I’m sure the Steelers fans just love.

I never thought I’d ever say this, but I will now.

Go Patriots.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Not Again…”

  1. nickierouleau Says:

    such a hater.

  2. dwellephant Says:

    “Go Patriots?”

    You and me both, brother.

Leave a Reply

