Words On A Blog

In case you hadn’t heard, David Ellis (most famously known for directing Snakes On A Plane) died yesterday at the age of 60.

I’m sure there are about a million other articles and bloggers out there breaking this story and throwing in their little quips about what has turned out to be Ellis’s opus. And of course, they’re also finding a way to work in that infamous “I’m tired of these motherfucking snakes…” quote somewhere into the piece. And why not? I mean let’s face it; David Ellis will never be mentioned in the same breath as people like Steven Spielberg or Martin Scorcese. News of his death is something that you mention in passing to whomever you see today, but you’ll surely forget about by the time you have tomorrow’s morning coffee.

But not for me. Because as weird as it may seem, Snakes On A Plane will always hold a special place in my memory.

Back in the late spring/early summer of 2006, I couldn’t help but tell just about everyone I saw how awesome I thought this movie was going to be. The buzz was all over the internet and my roommates and I made plans to see it when it was released that August. It served as the ultimate distraction for what was the toughest summer of my life.

On July 3rd, 2006 both of my parents were in a pretty severe motorcycle accident. My mom came out of it with some broken bones and road rash. My dad was not as lucky. He laid in a coma for almost two months before eventually passing away. As it happened, he died the day before the evening my roommates and I had set aside to see Snakes On A Plane. I knew they would’ve understood if I didn’t want to go. But I figured the movie would be a welcome interruption from everything else going on.

So what began as an evening of three roommates going to see a campy movie quickly turned into about 20-25 of my friends and family barreling into a multiplex aching for something to break the somber mood. And Snakes On A Plane delivered just that.

The movie was absolutely ridiculous. It was stupid. It was hilarious. It was over the top. And it was exactly what all of us needed. A few friends even snuck in giant rubber snakes to throw on unsuspecting patrons in the theater.

What makes Snakes On A Plane so great is that it doesn’t make you think. It doesn’t make you question anything about your own life. It has no life-affirming moral. It’s there to entertain you; nothing more, nothing less. And to this day, seeing that movie is the most fun I’ve ever had in a theater.

So thank you David Ellis. You may only go down in history as the director of Snakes On A Plane, but I think that’s pretty awesome.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Words On A Blog”

  1. nickierouleau Says:

    I think out of all of the other obituaries and articles that exist out there about David Ellis, this one is the best and I think he would agree too.

Leave a Reply

