I Love/Hate Guns

It would appear that as of late, talks of gun control are all the rage. Both sides of the argument have been bombarding all of us with their opinions of how arming and disarming Americans will destroy the fabric of this country.

As for me, I was raised around guns. My dad was a hunter who had quite the collection of rifles and handguns, and I was around them for as far back as I can remember. I was taught at a very young age how to handle, fear, and respect firearms. If there was one thing I learned throughout my childhood, it was not to fuck around in the presence of a gun.

As I grew up, I didn’t really become as much of an enthusiast as my dad was. I do currently own two guns, but both were inherited and only see action every year or so when I head to the range. I’m not a hunter and have no interest in buying a new firearm any time soon. In fact, my .357 and .22 pistol holds more sentimental value to me than anything else.

Because of my background and current position on the topic, I feel I have a pretty good handle on both sides of this debate. So first of all, everyone with any strong opinion needs to take a second and think about their opposition:

To the pro-gun advocates: I know it is your constitutional right to own a gun, but don’t forget the same people who gave you that right thought women shouldn’t vote and owning slaves was just dandy. This country, the people, and our firearms have all evolved in the last 200+ years. And while I fully support the right for you to bear arms, it is the responsibility of gun-owners to evolve as well. And please don’t support the NRA, those fuckers are crazy.

To the gun control advocates: It is important that you remember that the “extremist gun-toting Ted Nugent-esque fucktards” represent a very small slice of the population. Most gun-owners exhibit responsibility and currently operate within the regulations of current gun control laws. In fact, was it not for the NRA having politicians in their back-pocket, the ATF and other government agencies would be able to properly enforce laws and make sure that even less guns end up in the hands of the wrong people.

As for conceal and carry laws here in Wisconsin, I just don’t understand how people can even argue about it. How can it be a good idea to let people carry concealed weapons in a state that could quite possibly out-drink Ireland? Sure, every person wanting to carry a gun has to attend a class and be certified, but what does that solve? This morning some guy drove in front of me with his blinker on for two miles and then swiftly cut me off and almost sent me into a tree. And though the last thing I would call him is a responsible driver, I’m willing to bet he was certified to operate an automobile.

I will say this though, those models they get for the conceal/carry flyers sure do have magnificently giant boobs.

conceal&carry

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

